Chris Brown X Wizkid

Image

On December 22, Chris Brown was in Lagos performing at the Expo Hall of the Eko Hotel. He Instagram’d and tweeted, afterwards, pictures of himself and Nigerian artist Wizkid, well known for his songs “Tease Me” and “Pakurumo”. Wizkid performed the “Azonto” remix with Breezy. The picture was relayed to every African as it was shared and spread like wildfire.

I don’t know how I feel about this…

I don’t know how I feel about African artists coming together with American artists. I feel that if an American artists wants to make music with an African artist, it has to be from a good place. Not to just broaden ones fan base. It cannot be poorly done, and treated lesser than any other track. I take pride in my African music. I may not know every word, but I do appreciate the songs I do understand, and the songs I dance to.

All this is coming from the love-turned-hate feelings for the song “Beautiful Onyinye” by P-Square. I loved that song. It did have hope to be my FUTURE wedding song. Then American rapper, Rick Ross, made a remix, and music video for the song alongside P-Square. I have never been disgusted with a song ever in my life. Contrary to popular belief, as a woman, I do really listen to certain music, and their message. A rapper’s lyrics are the top 2 things I listen for on a track, along with the beat. The verse Rick Ross had on that song was horrible. The video could have been so much better considering all the money Rick Ross, and the Maybach Music empire, and P-Square have. I am not saying to go all out with the cash because, WE Nigerians, dont need the money. It seemed so low budget and not good next to what it could have been.

It’s not an African VS. American thing for me, though it may seem like that. I say, “If it aint broke, dont fix it”. And if it can be better, go right ahead.

Watch the video BELOW:

Leave a Reply

