“Stay” by Rihanna ft. Mikky Ekko


Opening to Rihanna unveiling herself, and sinking into a bathtub we are instantly drawn into the video released for her new single “Stay” featuring Mikky Ekko off of her Unapologetic album. The piano reels you in at first note, and the close up shot of the scars on her lips shocks me at first glance. This already started as a revealing video, but there is more to be revealed behind all those camera angles and shots aimed at her tattoos, as a very vulnerable Rihanna sings.

The music video for this song is beautiful. The song is so it’s expected that the video would be up to par. I use the term ‘beautiful’ because somehow shots of poor RiRi made me think back to Christina Aguilera’s 2002 hit. Anyone of those shots would have easily fit into a song about insecurities such as “Beautiful”. Sadly, there is no happy ending. Mikky Ekko sings his part, they harmonize, the song ends, and I am left there trying to piece together who Rihanna wants to “STAAAAAYYYYY”.

I’m only assuming that the video is about the “round and around” relationship of Chris and RiRi’s, but I cannot help the thoughts these words and images evokes. In the first verse of the song I visualize the pre- 2012 Grammy fight go down. Although the words she chose were subtle, images of them yelling back and forth are in my head…

“I put my hands in the air, I said show me something”

“He said if you dare come a little closer”

Mikky Ekko kind of throws me off though. I wish it was Chris singing in the video. Although Chris’ voice wouldn’t have had the same effect instead of a white, curly headed guy, I wanted to see a tatted, sunken cheek Chris Brown singing. To make both of them even more vulnerable Chris should be naked in his own tub too (I should be a music video producer- on list of things to do).

Anyway, this song on Unapologetic really worked for the variety Rihanna had on the album. I hear all types of beats and genres listening to that album, and having a slow ballad like this one commended that.

♦”When you never see the light its hard to know which one of us is caving”♦

 

video credit: RihannaVEVO

One comment

  1. sharon tsotetsi · March 14, 2013

    Wow what a lovely song

Leave a Reply

