Rejection. Deal With It!

Sidenote: I wrote this post early this Summer when I was down on my luck when it came to looking for jobs and internships. I reapplied to late for my regular summer position, and all positions were filled. It seemed as if no job wanted to hire me as an employee or intern. I stayed positive, I took my own advice (detailed below), and now I am happy that so many opportunities are rolling in. What I learned was to keep moving forward. No matter how hard it may be; stay positive, pray, rethink what you may be looking for, and keep going.

In the Communications career field, one has to grow thick skin to deal with rejection. Whether it is your idea, pitch, or story, their is a gatekeeper employed to control what gets the go-ahead and what gets the boot. This also applies to the job process where a Communications professional (or any professional) first deals with rejection. Now, I don’t mean “Deal With It” in the condescending manner. I mean “Deal With It” as in take the steps to assess what you did or did not do, and grow from it.

First, CRY! Well, if it is something you really wanted, and you need to have a quick breakdown then by all means, GO AHEAD! Finding a job in Communications is like a talent show. The person hired usually has the best display of talent (portfolio/experience/resume). Some applications for internships, and jobs are demanding and extensive. You spill your whole heart into your resume, cover letter, writing samples to highlight the best version of you. So, when rejected, you may battle with what your worth is, and not feeling good enough (I often go through this). If you are not chosen by one employer, know there will be (and is) an employer that will realize your worth. Get back on your feet after falling. Don’t waste to much time at this stage because you may miss opportunities.

What I often do after rejection (or being approved) is reevaluate my application. I take a look and try to realize for myself what I might have done right or wrong. This can be followed by emailing the employer and asking them to give you their thoughts and concerns on your application. Not many employers have time to do this because of their busy schedules. Emailing an employer for feedback on my application has only been successful once. It is always worth the try!

Get help from a job counselor or your school’s career services. I have received so much help from my school’s career services. I learned how to format my resume, job interview etiquette, and make good use of the Lion Career Network. LCN is Penn State’s site for job and internship postings. Continue to take advantage of these services even after rejection.

Now you may move on. You have dealt with being rejected, and can understand what move to make next. Stay positive and you’ll have better luck next time.

Leave a Reply

